Friday, November 30, 2012

Independent Spirit Award nominations!

I automatically assume The Master wasn't eligible because of its high budget. Check out the nominees!
  • Beasts of the Southern Wild
  • Bernie
  • Keep the Lights On
  • Moonrise Kingdom
  • Silver Linings Playbook
  • Wes Anderson, Moonrise Kingdom
  • Julia Loktev, The Loneliest Planet
  • David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook
  • Ira Sachs, Keep the Lights On
  • Benh Zeitlin, Beasts of the Southern Wild
  • Wes Anderson & Roman Coppola, Moonrise Kingdom
  • Zoe Kazan, Ruby Sparks
  • Martin McDonagh, Seven Psychopaths
  • David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook
  • Ira Sachs, Keep the Lights On
BEST FIRST FEATURE (Award given to the director and producer)
  • Fill the Void
  • Gimme the Loot
  • Safety Not Guaranteed
  • Sound of My Voice
  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower
  • Rama Burshtein, Fill the Void
  • Derek Connolly, Safety Not Guaranteed
  • Christopher Ford, Robot & Frank
  • Rashida Jones & Will McCormack, Celeste and Jesse Forever
  • Jonathan Lisecki, Gayby
  • Breakfast with Curtis, WRITER/DIRECTOR/PRODUCER: Laura Colella
  • Middle of Nowhere, WRITER/DIRECTOR/PRODUCER: Ava DuVernay, PRODUCERS: Howard Barish, Paul Garnes,
  • Mosquita y Mari, WRITER/DIRECTOR: Aurora Guerrero, PRODUCER: Chad Burris
  • Starlet, WRITER/DIRECTOR: Sean Baker, PRODUCERS: Blake Ashman-Kipervaser, Kevin Chinoy, Patrick Cunningham, Chris Maybach, Francesca Silvestri
  • The Color Wheel, WRITER/DIRECTOR/PRODUCER: Alex Ross Perry, WRITER: Carlen Altman
  • Linda Cardellini, Return
  • Emayatzy Corinealdi, Middle of Nowhere
  • Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook
  • Quvenzhané Wallis, Beasts of the Southern Wild
  • Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Smashed
  • Jack Black, Bernie
  • Bradley Cooper, Silver Linings Playbook
  • John Hawkes, The Sessions
  • Thure Lindhardt, Keep the Lights On
  • Matthew McConaughey, Killer Joe
  • Wendell Pierce, Four
  • Rosemarie DeWitt, Your Sister’s Sister
  • Ann Dowd, Compliance
  • Helen Hunt, The Sessions
  • Brit Marling, Sound of My Voice
  • Lorraine Toussaint, Middle of Nowhere
  • Matthew McConaughey, Magic Mike
  • David Oyelowo, Middle of Nowhere
  • Michael Péna, End of Watch
  • Sam Rockwell, Seven Psychopaths
  • Bruce Willis, Moonrise Kingdom
  • Yoni Brook, Valley of Saints
  • Lol Crawley, Here
  • Ben Richardson, Beasts of the Southern Wild
  • Roman Vasyanov, End of Watch
  • Robert Yeoman, Moonrise Kingdom
BEST DOCUMENTARY (Award given to the director and producer)
  • How to Survive a Plague - DIRECTOR: David France - PRODUCERS: David France, Howard Gertler, Marina Abramoviæ:
  • The Artist is Present - DIRECTOR: Matthew Akers - PRODUCERS: Maro Chermayeff, Jeff Dupre
  • The Central Park Five - DIRECTORS/PRODUCERS: Ken Burns, Sarah Burns, David McMahon
  • The Invisible War - DIRECTOR: Kirby Dick - PRODUCERS: Tanner King Barklow, Amy Ziering
  • The Waiting Room - DIRECTOR/PRODUCER: Peter Nicks - PRODUCERS: Linda Davis, William B. Hirsch
BEST INTERNATIONAL FILM (Award given to the director)
  • Amour
  • Once Upon A Time in Anatolia
  • Rust And Bone
  • Sister
  • War Witch
16th ANNUAL PIAGET PRODUCERS AWARD – The 16th annual Piaget Producers Award honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources demonstrate the creativity, tenacity, and vision required to produce quality, independent films. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Piaget.
  • Nobody Walks PRODUCER: Alicia Van Couvering
  • Prince Avalanche, PRODUCER: Derrick Tseng
  • Stones in the Sun, PRODUCER: Mynette Louie
19th ANNUAL SOMEONE TO WATCH AWARD – The 19th annual Someone to Watch Award recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.
  • Pincus, DIRECTOR: David Fenster
  • Gimme the Loot, DIRECTOR: Adam Leon
  • Electrick Children, DIRECTOR: Rebecca Thomas
STELLA ARTOIS TRUER THAN FICTION AWARD – The 18th annual Truer Than Fiction Award is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.
  • Leviathan - DIRECTOR: Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Véréna Paravel
  • The Waiting Room, DIRECTOR: Peter Nicks
  • Only the Young, DIRECTOR: Jason Tippet & Elizabeth Mims
ROBERT ALTMAN AWARD – (Given to one film’s director, casting director, and its ensemble cast)
  • Starlet, Director: Sean Baker

No comments:

Post a Comment